December 11, 2012

  • It’s a beautiful life

    I know you guys probably get sick of hearing me say it, but life just keeps getting more and more wonderful…
    Wonderfulness #1: The discovery that the grow lights we’re using for our overwintering of plants seems to help my normal wintertime melancholy

    Wonderfulness #2:  Finding lots of awesome ukulele tabs and a tuner on the internet so I can play music while baby naps in my lap.

    Wonderfulness #3:  The way she wakes up, rolls over, and hugs the ukulele.

    Wonderfulness #4: Yesterday, my husband poured the last of our concrete countertop AND made a magnificent pumpkin soup as well.

    Wonderfulness #5:
    A finished painting

    Window
    Acrylic on canvas w/lace
    17″x21″ including attached frame

    I had a couple interesting comments on this piece so I thought I’d write a little about it… This canvas has seen probably 5 different paintings. I put the lace on about 10 years ago and because of the really high relief, it’s been difficult for me to be happy with the result. I’m just like that…
    So this works for me.  The shape in the center reminds me of an eye. That’s all I can see.  Stained Glass Window to the Soul?  Sounds too cheesy for me to use as a title, but brings all these great ideas to my English major brain… Lace, glass, eyes….
    That’s about as firm as I ever get in a painting concept and I rarely care to reveal my own thinking very much. I generally think a painting should speak without my words attached to it, but there it is anyway…

    Onward and upward
    I gotta go practice the ukulele.
    *

Comments (21)

  • i love that i can see this piece better here. i had not seen the ‘eye’; very cool. cool title, but i so know what you mean about not saying too much about a piece. 

    i love that the ‘grow’ lights, help you, too!  yay for music, and babes :)  

  • I like seeing what you see.  Thank you.

  • much wonderfulness.

    I really need a grow light.

  • I am very glad for all the wonderfulness. I like people to be happy. And I really love your paintings.

  • You are so right, good picture tells its own story.  I walk about looking for those pictures.
    It is a wonderful life.  I love you guys and I’ve never eaten pumpkin soup. 

  • Beautiful work!  Speaks on it’s own.  Thank you for sharing!

  • The assonance in lace,glass,eyes is just too sexy. I’m beaming at the happiness beams that have come all this way from TN from you

  • really beautiful.

    just witnessing beauty makes me see God more

  • I do like the texture of this one. I like how you recycle too, if that’s what you call it…

  • There are a lot of objects that can be made with cast concrete. I suppose if your husband was really ambitious he could make pillars/columns in front of the house and a fountain.

    A lot of people are discovering that light effects their emotions. What are you growing besides better emotions? Some tropical plants? The LED lights can also grow plants and use less energy but we’ll see when the prices get lower.

  • Medieval jester. Look hard. You will see it, cap and all.

  • someone told me that if you can draw a perfect circle it means you’re a genius. yay babies who hug ukeleles!!

  • I like the painting.. It’s a real upper to hear that someone thinks their life is wonderful.. 

    Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays. 
    Christy

  • Lady! You may know how much I love my uke! Wellington International ukelele orchestra is one toplay for your sweet baby. Just so much joy with little instruments. I love making my own picks.

  • @Bels_Kaylar - I think the pieces show up better on this background and when I have more control over the size and layout… I really feel like my experience of the painting is very personal and not really relevant to the experience of the viewer, but at the same time I know some viewers really value that insight for other reasons… So I do it sometimes.
    @chronic_masticator - Thank you. The really high textures are a real challenge to work with and use well…
    @feedwaterclean - I’m glad you appreciate that. It rarely occurs to me to say much about my experience in the work. If you ever get curious on a piece don’t hesitate to speak up. :)
    @plantinthewindow - Yeah. The grow light is a pretty cool thing. It was on a timer so I woke up with it already on. Seemed to be good for the baby as well. The timer croaked though so we’re going to have to like… eh… manually operate it lol…
    By the way, I got my copy today! I think I’m going to have some good time to lay back and read with some good music on this evening. I have a bottle of wine and everything. My day is made.
    @happyworld_ofharibo - I like being happy. And I like people to be happy. I got tired of spending so much energy counting things that didn’t enhance my life lol… Thank you. I’m glad I met you  :)
    @C_L_O_G - We’ll have to make you some. Maybe I can convince the man to do it again :D
    @crankycaregiver - @hesacontradiction - Thank you very much
    @BoureeMusique - I’m so gratified that you appreciate the piece. I think there’s an aspect of English-Major-Ness that applies lol… Ukulele = pure happiness. Get a ukulele. Really. I know the music’s in you anyway. It’s only 4 little strings… and you can get a playable one for like $30.
    @f5ye_angel5 - That is the best compliment I’ve gotten all week.
    @armnatmom - Sometimes I do put my old torn up clothes in paintings lol… I use tissue paper from received shipments all the time – stuff that’s too crinkled to do anything with really… So some of it is recycling
    @PPhilip - our house isn’t really suited to a lot of concrete work out front. We chose this for the counter because it’s strong, will last a long time, and inexpensive. I’m not so interested in decorative aspects and he does an awful lot of joinery in structural wood work. I’d rather see that on the structure if I planned to live here a longer time.
    LED’s are pretty awesome, but the cost is unpleasant still. I will probably do some LED lighting in some areas. I think the expense is merited in some applications
    @Inciteful - Found it :D Thank you!
    @ordinarybutloud - I’ve also heard it means you’re insane if you can draw a perfect circle. Perhaps the two are connected hahahahha….
    @greatredwoman - I’ve seen an awful lot of unhappy holiday writing about lately. It makes me a little sad for people. I have a wonderful life and I guess I’m just fortunate enough to be able to stop to experience it.
    @Lenore_Happenstance - Somehow I didn’t remember that about you – probably because the uke wasn’t really on my radar until recently. What kind of stuff do you play? I tend to lean toward classical pieces, jigs and reels. I never really get into playing straight chords. I fall asleep with strumming stuff.

  • @oceanstarr - I’m glad to have met you too. You inspire me to appreciate the greatness of my life – which most days I am good at doing, but every now and then I forget and I shouldn’t because there is so much that is good and wonderful and happy.

  • @oceanstarr - That would be nice..

  • @oceanstarr - it sorta reminded me of those colored cut glass they put in churches. I forget what they’re called

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *