December 9, 2012

  • Ukulele Baby

    So I was planning to introduce the ukulele to the little one when she was maybe two or three…
    Today totally changed my plans.
    We were at a friend’s house where they have PILES of instruments. This couple collects instruments… So the lady puts a cool, homemade simple drum in front of S. I watch her figure it out. Then, out comes a Dixie banjo (cast aluminum, open back, very cool!) and we played with that for a LONG time.  Then, she pulls out a little old yard sale ukulele and gives it to S for Christmas! It’s not an expensive thing, but I was so surprised to see the baby take an instant interest in the instruments! She was fascinated – couldn’t quit playing with them! 
    So I spent the last hour learning about the uke. I have played guitar for a long time, but I haven’t tuned a uke or changed strings on one etc… and the bridge is pulling up a bit and needs a minor repair. (No worries, my husband can totally handle that).
    I guess music is on the to-do list…
    I am the happiest woman on the planet tonight.

Comments (20)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *