Month: February 2013

  • It’s blooming all over!

    Hi guys! I’ve been home alone with the baby a bunch lately and it’s not so easy to type these days with her. She keeps stealing my mouse and closing my browser and such, but we are having a lovely time together eating onions and raw mushrooms and baked apples and yogurt… Making simple smoothies and mashed potatoes and such.  We pick the flower stalks of arugula plants and she munches the flowers happily watching Doctor WHO with me hehehe… And she cooperates more with me painting than me typing so here are some fresh flowers for you. I hope the signs of spring are as inspirational and glorious for you as they are for me!

     
    Both of these are about 10.5″ x10.75″ on 1/2″ plywood.
    go forth and be joyfully productive :D
    Onward and upward!

    *

    Edit… Apparently, I missed a painting. Here it is too :)

  • Just a lot of happy!

    So all of a sudden, life is more exciting than usual.
    In March, my work is going to the public library in Oak Ridge.
    New work going into Artifactia in Bearden.
    In June, work will be shown in the Tomato Head at Market Square in Oak Ridge – then in July it goes to their other location in West Knoxville…
    And in April, I have to write to the Stir Fry Cafe about scheduling with them.

    I’m just all bubbly inside… hehehehe…. Life feels like such a bubbling brook of excitement and joy right now!  I just had to share!

  • Childlike

     
    Tulips Burst Forth From the Darkness of Winter
    Acrylic on Plywood
    Slightly larger than 12″x15″

    Childlike… In the face of the stresses of life and the gloomy moods being flung about, I still feel childlike…
    In spite of being reminded that all sorts of horrible things are happening around the country, I still feel free and happy in myself.
    In spite of being reminded that I’m supposed to feel adult and responsible and parent-like, I still feel like myself and even reborn continuously.

    How can life be bad or sad or stressful when the sun shines and I am surrounded by such love from my friends and the Universe?

    A side note – I spent a bunch of time this morning working on my Etsy site – fixing/lowering prices, removing sold pieces and adding new ones. If you’re interested, take a gander here:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/OceanStarr?ref=pr_shop_more

    January is, indeed, the cruelest month for sales, but I recently picked up a couple commissions in anticipation of tax return monies and some people who had paused their installment plans say they can resume shortly so I’m hoping with Valentines Day and Mothers Day on the horizons, business will pick up.

    More good news – Seren’s big enough to go to Kid Care at my gym now so I can go back to working out.
    Somehow I think my separation anxiety will be worse than hers… but I am SO excited to be able to get my muscles back in order as spring and summer look my way!

    If no one’s making your day, make it yourself!
    With love as always
    Onward and upward
    *

  • Time…


    Childhood love flits in the memories of my heart like butterflies
    22.5″x35.75″
    Acrylic on Plywood with Texturing

    We’ve been working on the house trying to get it safe and happy for a more mobile baby and my laptop is currently in a difficult spot for me to sit and type and read. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to visit around as much… I’m dying to get around and see what everyone’s up to… But that is the way it is right now.

    In the meantime, I’ve been meditating on memories of childhood love… before bills and schedules and all that.

    I also just finished reading @plantinthewindow‘s latest book.
    I took my sweet time with it because I do find it so exquisite… a meditation on the joys and agonies and joys again in human life – uncomplicated and unchanged by the passing of time and corporeal decay… but also shaded by the same.
    I am greatly hoping I can find the time to write a nice scholarly paper about it. I know it’s not in the style a lot of people read for “fun”… I can’t imagine reading Game of Thrones of Shades of Grey (guessing I got those titles right). My education in literature has made “candy books” difficult for me to get interested in. I would like to see John’s work get the recognition I believe it deserves as a truly masterful piece! Also meditating on how to make that happen.

    Gotta run for now – baby calls
    As always with love
    Onward and upward
    *