February 9, 2013

  • Childlike

     
    Tulips Burst Forth From the Darkness of Winter
    Acrylic on Plywood
    Slightly larger than 12″x15″

    Childlike… In the face of the stresses of life and the gloomy moods being flung about, I still feel childlike…
    In spite of being reminded that all sorts of horrible things are happening around the country, I still feel free and happy in myself.
    In spite of being reminded that I’m supposed to feel adult and responsible and parent-like, I still feel like myself and even reborn continuously.

    How can life be bad or sad or stressful when the sun shines and I am surrounded by such love from my friends and the Universe?

    A side note – I spent a bunch of time this morning working on my Etsy site – fixing/lowering prices, removing sold pieces and adding new ones. If you’re interested, take a gander here:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/OceanStarr?ref=pr_shop_more

    January is, indeed, the cruelest month for sales, but I recently picked up a couple commissions in anticipation of tax return monies and some people who had paused their installment plans say they can resume shortly so I’m hoping with Valentines Day and Mothers Day on the horizons, business will pick up.

    More good news – Seren’s big enough to go to Kid Care at my gym now so I can go back to working out.
    Somehow I think my separation anxiety will be worse than hers… but I am SO excited to be able to get my muscles back in order as spring and summer look my way!

    If no one’s making your day, make it yourself!
    With love as always
    Onward and upward
    *

Comments (12)

  • Intriguing, for sure =)

  • The quote at the end says it all: If no one is making your day, make it yourself. What a good example you are of a positive attitude. It certainly does make a difference how you look at life BEFORE it happens to you.

  • Doom, gloom,  and nay sayers abound and will be with us always.   I travel no path as childlike as possible.  <3  
    I’ve been reinventing how I spend my free time lately.  It has been fun discovering new avenues of play.

  • I love the title assigned to that pretty painting. Poetic.

    The good news sound great. And true: having things to look-forward to do make other things like seperation-anxiety be atleast minimized.

    I like the way your Etsy page looks-like and the items listed are indeed attractive so may those who need them be able to find your page easily.

    All the best!

  • i like the thought of making your own day.  so important.  now i’m gonna go look at the pretties.

  • yay for sales! and as always, beautiful painting!

  • Flaming tulips. Nice.

  • January-February are also the worst months at my work too!  Seems like people just don’t wanna spend during this time, no matter what the product is.

    It’ll be fun to see how Seren socializes with other kids on a regular basis!  I heard this is also a true test of her immune system too since daycares tend to have a lot of germs.  I’m not too worried though because knowing how healthy you eat, she’s probably got the body of a super baby. :p

  • heh. that last comment by chamchiki, reminds me of a double ph.d person i knew once, that would deliberately take her kids into places that had things going on. like measles. yah. a doctor type, and clearly believed in the body’s abilities. 

    love the paintings, as you know. and thank you for link to etsy. going to go see, and bookmark. 

  • @things_with_wings_07 - Thank you
    @feedwaterclean - When everything is said and done, all we can control is our attitude right?
    @C_L_O_G - I hope I can get some time to chat with you again soon!
    @nov_way - Thank you so much :) I try to keep my attitude positive – that way no matter what happens, I get to keep smiling and make better decisions.

  • @oceanstarr - That would be wonderful!   Happy V-day.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *