December 1, 2012

  • A revision

    Re-vision
    Re-seeing
    Re-imagining
    Re-doing
    These days I’m feeling kind of reborn. It’s lovely. Usually as the chapters of my life change, I feel a lot more pain. This time around, things are much lighter and easier.

    Yesterday I took my work out of Gallery 133. They’ll be having their final First Friday show on the 7th. The space is being leased by someone else so that adventure is changing form. The group may seek another space and I may rejoin them there after a bit, but in the meantime, I have another location that I’m going to go to. An old friend is opening a shop in a good location which will be kind of a vintage/antique/gallery/boutique themed venture.  I think I’ll be putting a lot of work in there and it has all signs of being a good launch so far. I dig the name: Artifactia. Cool eh?

    Other things… Seren is crawling well now and doing very well in all respects. She and I are going to deliver a painting this afternoon and talk with a girl about redoing her room – kind of from little girl to big girl I guess. I don’t recall her exact age, but I know we’ll have a great time drawing ideas and talking about possibilities. I hope to be able to help… Regardless, sometimes just talking about ideas helps so I’m sure it’ll be an afternoon well spent.

    And the literal revision:
    Some of you will, no doubt, remember a previous version of this painting. My husband was really disappointed when I repainted the background, but I’m just not going to store stuff indefinitely. I have no doubt that there was some place it could have made someone happy as it was, but repainting it made ME happy. So I did it lol… Selfish selfish me.
    I think the dragonfly in the lower left stands out better now with the revision. The dragonfly was always my favorite element in the piece.

    I am extraordinarily busy these days. I’m constantly packing and shipping paintings and running around to deliver paintings and things like that. Good busy. Good tired. 
    Onward and upward
    *

Comments (13)

  • Afraid I don’t remember the original version, but I love what you’ve done to it.  And that dragonfly ~

  • @chronic_masticator - she is kind of brilliant, isn’t she? and the dragonfly, too ;)  

  • watching “Pollock”, have you seen it? i can’t handle the whole thing, what with the alcoholic fights and all, but i LOVE watching him paint. i would love to make a film just for me, of artists working. it shows me how much i miss, not that i ever had it, a clan of artists, in real life. just as you say, to be able to talk, or not talk, about the work. 

  • You know, I need you to talk to me about redoing my daughter’s room. :D For example. She has a “studio,” or an “art room,” not really a bedroom anymore. Anything you would have loved in a studio when you were 7? We looked at small manageable adjustable (non-babyish) easels today. But what kind of paint? Should I strip out the carpet and leave it bare cement for her? I’m at a loss.

  • Love this!!! of course, I like anything with flowers… btw, I’ve become ‘friends’ with your dad.  He’s a handsome man. I like  him. I hope I’m not offending, but I see where you get some of your beautiful looks from.

  • Love this!!! of course, I like anything with flowers… btw, I’ve become ‘friends’ with your dad.  He’s a handsome man. I like  him. I hope I’m not offending, but I see where you get some of your beautiful looks from.

  • i like the revision. It’s a lot to take in with the eye, but the stained glass will always say holy place to me and juxtaposed with the flowers makes for interesting thoughts. And then the dragon fly, this little thing at the foot of all this bigness, does stand out. Nice. 

  • This is really wonderful. I like that the flower shape is echoed in the “stained glass” portion, and what can be interpreted from that; and the dragonfly is perfect.

  • I like your revision.  Your style reminds me a bit of Chagall and Franz Marc.  German Expressionists.  It was so sad how many artists died in WWI–well, actually that ANYONE would die in war is sad. 

  • Wow, sounds like you are doing fantastic, actually. And I like the dragonfly, too.

  • @chronic_masticator - The original was a few years old I think – only my older xanga friends probably would have seen it. Thank you :)
    @Bels_Kaylar - I have seen most of that movie too – The rough parts are rough on me as well.  I can really relate to the way he paints in the film though. It’s like the painting just happens without my participation – more like the brush is operating my arm than the other way round
    @ordinarybutloud - Funny I just worked with a 13 year old on a bedroom redesign yesterday lol… The first question for me is does she like to work on the floor or in a chair. I’ve always preferred to be on the floor or on one of those low rolling things like they use to get under cars and work on them.  I always really liked having lots of bins or milk crates or little drawer organizers with various supplies inside – pencils and crayons and watercolor packs and different papers etc – I wasn’t always the most organized, but at least I could be organized in my own way. Another thing that’s loads of fun – big rolls of paper – you can get newsprint for pretty cheap and roll it out on the floor or on the wall and have fun all day drawing on it and then cut out the best parts and give as gifts (or roll it all back up for “safe keeping” and store it pretty easily).  I really loved Christmas tree lights strung up around the room. 
    Just brainstorming… Concrete floor is cool in some ways, but cold on the buttocks when you sit there a long time. 
    I also have, on many occasions, put hollow core doors on crates or cinderblocks to get a good work surface that’s whatever custom height from the floor I like at that point – cheap and effective – and the door can be painted for fun too…

    I can probably go on and on with ideas lol… This any help?

    Oh – and type of paint- there are a few ways you can go. For that age, I would probably go with some water based non-toxic stuff that can be used copiously at low cost. As she gets more refined (or she may be now – your call), Liquitex makes some acrylics that come in big bright tubes. They’re inexpensive student grade paints that go a long way and are good enough that I still use them in some cases. 
    Watercolors in the dry cake packs are good too at that age.
    @armnatmom - He is a good looking guy – and doesn’t look his age at all. You should have seen him when he was a young hippie with long hair and cut offs lol… He is such a treasure to me!

    @anvilsandedelweiss - Thank you. I guess the stained glass is kind of sacred in some way to me as well… not just because of the time I spent in churches growing up, but because my parents made a lot of stained glass when I was little. It has all those memories attached to it. 
    It’s always fun to play with the scale a bit. :) I don’t like following the “rules”
    @suzyQ_darnit - Thank you very much. That patch of flower in the upper right is actually a patch that I left from the original composition. I liked the effect as well.
    @A_Different_Route - Thank you very much – They’re both inspirations for me. I was thinking of Chagall when I did this.
    @transvestite_rabbit - yes. Life is good :) Thanks for coming by. We don’t bump into each other so much anymore… I hope you and yours are all well and enjoying whatever type of holiday season you’re having.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *