October 19, 2012

  • I love my life…

    So… this morning has started off strong. I’ve already done a load of diapers in the wash and made coffee and took a couple photos. I haven’t gotten to painting yet, but that’s next on the list. First, a magnet I haven’t shared before… I like it. It was from a print of a black and white piece I did. I think I may make a set of these spiral-rose things for my own fridge.

    Next… A cute picture of the baby… Just because… She frequently looks kind of studious and serious like this.

    And the best for last! Yesterday in the mail I got the best gift!!! @plantinthewindow sent me a super nice canvas print of his barn photo which I love SO SO SO much! Seriously… art is the best gift in the world! When you’re considering Xmas gifts (or whatever winter holiday you may like), consider supporting the arts… Not because I’m an artist, but because it’s one small way we can support each other, help restore the economy (by supporting locals instead of mega-corps) and bring real flavor into our lives. Keep in mind that artists can create something unique and special for the ones you love instead of some mass produced piece of easily forgettable blah blah… Go to your local art walk or gallery – or shop on Etsy for that special something… just my two cents…

    My photo is a little blurred because it’s not bright in here this morning, but the photo is on the easel in front of the painting that evolves from his photo. Now, his barn has turned into a nest… It’s come a long way from the original inspiration, but still, I have to say that the nest is the same as his barn to me – both suspended from the sun in some way in my English major type brain… Ahhh…. maybe I’ll get it done today.

    Go forth and make something!
    Onward and upward!
    *

Comments (10)

  • Ah, that is so good to hear.  I talked recently to a couple of the people who met with us for coffee that morning.  I told them you seemed very happy.  Now I read this and wow, it seems you are doing so well.  If I capture the joy around us, and spread it to others what more can I expect of my life and myself.  

  • I had ‘rl’ contact wth a Xangan only once, so I don’t haven’t received or given any gifts in the past 4 years or so Art is really a gret gift, I am always beyon happy to get something that is sort of personal. One of my real life friends sewed four chickens out of tissue rests as a ‘little addition’ to the ‘real’ gift (a book gift card), but they belong to the most beloved thigs I ever received. 

  • that magnet thing is WONDERFUL. i think i really want some, too, but only if you can or want or whatever ;)  ocean, come see my latest! just posted it. 

  • I really like the magnet!  and I’m so glad you like the photo on canvas … I think it gives the image some umph.  : )  but, of course, the real work of art is the little girl in the center photo. : )

  • cute baby! and awesome magnet! 

  • the pic on top looks like dragonfruit :D and your baby, wow, she’s grown… time does fly so fast… and @plantinthewindow’s photo is amazing… it would be nice to see you paint that… its entrancing… the divinely white coming down to such a solitary subject… 

  • Love the artwork, love the baby and love the fact that you love your life!!!! <3 

  • the photo is gorgeous on canvas.  i think i’ve already said i love the paintings that came from it too.  the connections and inspiration and sharing are so amazing.  and your sweet baby girl is tops.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *