October 17, 2012

  • The Debates!!!

    my two cents…
    Just like every other election I’ve watched, the decision for most people seems to be more about voting AGAINST one guy than voting for the other… lesser of the evils… blah blah blah.
    That’s all I have to say about that. 

    Today I’m putting some art in a shop I haven’t worked with before in West Knoxville called Nest… I’m interested to see how that goes. It’s always nice to be accepted somewhere…
    I’m also going to a meeting regarding an event at the gallery I’m working with and picking up some art from a location I used to hang at…
    And then I will have beer

    I finally got some shots of the garden!  Here’s our Japanese Yam patch!

    That’s red leaf lettuce in the upper right, rainbow chard behind in the center… My tasty terraced yard. 

    And this is the other side:

    The dill is self seeding at this point and doing great – That’s creeping rosemary on the far left with a bit more chard toward the front. There’s horseradish on the top terrace, more sweet potatoes (small vines) toward the front of the image and our leeks are self seeding and spreading as well.  We get a lot of food out of our tiny patch…
    and yes… we love sweet potatoes.

    And for you lovers of the cuteness: Seren stole Daddy’s hat and played with it for a while… She’s close to 20 pounds now at 7 months and doing great!

Comments (24)

  • cuteness.  perhaps you can paint your versions of two cent in into a kttle screaming forth the patriotic tri color steam?

  • Or you can paint the debates as two comic villains going out for world domination.

  • Adorable! And so big! She’s really just beautiful.

    Your garden looks great!

  • beer is good.
    you have a wonderful garden/yard, and that is the cutest hat-stealer I’ve every seen!

  • the things and little person you are growing are awesome. :) )

  • Your garden looks amazing, it’s always so gratifying and heartwarming to see the green grow :3

    Seren looks adorable, She’s sooooo cute :)

  • look at all of the lovely things you make! except for that male person, there ;) sweet! and congrats on new places to hang. so to speak ;)  

  • Hah!  I thought you lived in a little country cabin with lots of land around you!  You do an amazing job of food production in a small area!

  • Ooo.  Gardens!

    Also, your family is adorable!

  • You almost scared me off with that title.  After ten minutes on line this morning I’d seen the word “binder” enough for the rest of my life. 

    Great pics.  Nice to see you’re being productive.  Or produce-ive as it were.  .

  • Wonderful garden!  I love the way you make the most of the space you have. We LOVE sweet potatoes too.  Aren’t self seeding plants wonderful?  We refer to them as “volunteers”.  :)

  • You  are Mother Earth.

  • Lovely pictures! We’ve had 2 killing frosts up here, so gardens are moving rapidly to fallow mode.

    As for me, I’m voting FOR one of the candidates. I don’t agree with all of his views, but I don’t expect that I’ll ever agree with all of the views of another person, ever. I do disagree most heartily with the other candidate. I liked the second debate – both candidates did a solid job of presenting themselves and their positions, and critiquing the positions of their opponent. More than one commentator says it was the best presidential debate they can remember, and I agree with that assessment. I personally like the town hall format a lot. I think the questions are often better than those posed by professional journalists.

  • @starmanjones - @BellArt - I’m afraid I’d paint what I really think hahaha… On the topic of politics, that just wouldn’t be pretty at all
    @soobee72 - Thanks a lot. My husband did most of the garden work. He’s really good at it. Of course I’d help more if I wasn’t on diaper patrol. 
    @plantinthewindow - yes – beer is good And so is Tiny. People keep telling me she’s abnormally happy and good. I don’t know squat about babies so I can’t compare her to anything I know, but I sure do enjoy the little booger
    @be_the_rain - Thank you muchly
    @xXxlovelylollipop - Indeed… the gardens make living in the suburbs much more tolerable.  I enjoy going out to survey the gardens with the baby in the mornings and telling her what all the plants are.
    @Bels_Kaylar - Well… I couldn’t have grown any of it without his help
    @slmret - I’ll take that as a compliment. We do the best we can with the plot of dirt we have to work with. I grew up on a farm so I guess I’m kind of always there in my mind.
    @manic_lizard - Thank you
    @King_of_the_Worker_Monkeys - I don’t know anything about the “binder” comment, but I’m seeing it everywhere. I had to title it “debates” because everyone else was doing it… I’ll be so glad when the election is over one way or the other.
    @maniacsicko - Thank you
    @A_Different_Route - We have other volunteers too, but they won’t make it – too late in the season. We have a grow shelf inside that we might move some stuff to before the frost. Have you had Japanese yams? They are SO awesome – especially with some garlic, leeks, and chard
    @Inciteful - That is such a great compliment Thank you
    @hesacontradiction - Yes – we certainly lucked out on that one
    @scifiknitter - I didn’t watch any debates this year and don’t plan to vote. I can’t vote for either of them in good conscience… although one does seem worse than the other to me… It’s tough. Always kind of agonizing to go through the election cycle for me. Somehow I always keep hoping there’ll be someone good and the good ones always drop out before the convention… Oh well… It’s good to hear from you. How’s life with you these days?

  • @oceanstarr - I went to a library in texas and it was shocking the mache art up..you could get mexican on it? :D

  • @starmanjones - I kind of try to stay away from political type art… it depresses me… however, your comment kind of helps my Halloween costume dilemma.

  • @oceanstarr - Absolutely a compliment!

  • 7 months already!  Doesn’t that mean that you can actually feed your home grown sweet potatoes to Seren (she’s so cute!!) in a puréed form??  That’s a delicious garden you’ve got there.  It makes me wish our growing season here isn’t so short, so that our garden could last longer.  We’ve already dipped into a freezing point, so I had to harvest all our tomatoes, even though they were still green.  What do you guys do with the extra food you grow?

  • Ahh, I see. You have a pretty different kind of work that is of copurse nice to do at home. Office work sucks in general so doing it home is like creating a ADHS syndrome (at least for me…”oh ther’s aTV… adds about food, lets eat some…oh dishes need to be done…oh abutterfly….” – Nice having a garden where you grow your own food. I am missing that.  Sweet kid you have….

  • @chamchikimbap - She’s still mostly on breastmilk, but gets little bits of all kinds of other foods – yes sweet potatoes! We built a structure over the gardens to make it easier to do a cold frame in the winter, extending our season even further. I can some of our surplus and freeze some and barter some out to other people who have things we want.  You should see her trying to drink my coffee hehehe
    @Iassi - I do a little web design, a little tutoring, and a lot of painting so it’s really fun and easy at home (although very busy!)  Growing a lot of our own food helps keep the cost of living low so we don’t have to make so much money – and we eat a LOT healthier.

  • You are indeed bleessed with a wonderful family, remarkable talent and a beautiful piece of land upon which to work and play!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *