November 15, 2012

  • On Faith

    I have paintings coming out my ears. The faster they sell, the faster I paint. I have to produce for the next show and the deadline is in less than two weeks and I have three commissioned paintings that are due as soon as I can finish them and I have a couple other commissions that may or may not come through and I have all these damned ideas swirling around in my head trying to come out the ends of my arms and right now just this very moment, there’s a chunk of tiny human laying across my legs sleeping.

    And then I decided to work on that book I started a while back… and I’m due to write this essay on women’s roles in “today’s world” whatever the hell that means… and I have to finish editing/proofing this book of my friend’s and then he invited me to write an editor’s note and I’d be a damned fool not to do that…

    And then I decided that I’d take part in the public art project putting murals up in this alley close to Market Square in Knoxville because I totally don’t have enough to get done already and every 8 month old wants to ride around in a baby sling carrier while her mother paints on some wall with recycling center paint on a chilly day… but it’s a great opportunity to put some stuff up where people will see it all the time and it’s just cool and maybe I can get a photographer to come and play with me while I paint…

    And then there’s the small matter of the web design projects I really ought to do…

    Yeah.
    And here I sit performing my role as baby bed. She just doesn’t like to be away from me very much and I find it pointless and inefficient to try to convince her otherwise.

    Really nice thing happened yesterday. I was carrying a pile of packages to the post office and had this idea that I would strap them to the baby stroller and strap the baby to my chest in the baby carrier and somehow get all the stuff into the building and shipped.
    Sounds ridiculous right? Yeah. It was.  No way were those packages going on that little stroller.  So there I stood in the parking lot with the packages on the ground and the baby in the car seat looking at me like “what the h… I’m supposed to be getting out of this seat now.  What are you doing?” and just then. Out of nowhere, appears this bored guy who was paying enough attention to the world to happen to notice my predicament. He actually carried all my packages in for me and saved me a lot of time and probably a few bruises.
    YAY

    So every time I feel like I’ve gotten myself into some silly pile of unaccomplishable work, something like that happens and reminds me that I’m not in it alone… and everything’s on time.

    Onward and upward
    *

Comments (9)

  • rok ‘em sok ‘em heres a buket of affeinated beverages? I’m thinking my C key and V key are failing….how unhelpful.

  • It’s lovely when we seem to be on a roll. My year has been that way. And helpful people are a huge blessing.

    I’m glad you’re doing so well with your painting, and having opportunities to do so much creative stuff. Maybe I’ll get over to the Knoxville area someday and see your mural. I’ve gone to Johnson City a couple of times on business. It could happen again.

    Blessings to your little girl. Parenting is the most creative thing we do.

  • awwwww…that’s nice! Just something I probably shouldn’t say, but people have been telling me since…well, since my son was about 8 months old that I should probably pace myself a little better. :D

  • I’m not always about the universe being personally invested in people, but it sounds like the universe was with you yesterday. All with the Tao and stuff. It sounds like you’re busy but in a happy way. Even your litany of activities sounds both calm and cheerful.

  • @starmanjones - Oh yeah – at least a pot of coffee every morning. :) Keeps me calm believe it or not
    @Roadkill_Spatula - It would be very cool to meet you if it works out that way.  This has been a great year – I really like things busy. Almost nothing seems to really stress me out anymore compared to a couple years ago.
    @ordinarybutloud - People have been telling me that for almost 20 years.. now they’re starting to get that this just

    is

    my pace. I become depressed and angry if I have to sit still too much.
    @BoureeMusique - Yeah. You got it. Let go or be dragged right? lol

  • @oceanstarr - huh. me too. But I get depressed and angry when I get too strung out and rushed, too. Maybe I’m just a depressed and angry person. HAHAHAHAHA.

  • @ordinarybutloud - It’s all about hitting the sweet spot lol. 

  • Yesterday I also noticed a lady employee and lady loading up her truck with paving bricks. Gallant PPhilip pitched in to help. Yes there are gallant folks out in the world and they notice when people need help.

  • yay, you! (& this is the 2nd time i’ve gotten to say this in last 24 hours, so yay, universe ;)  so glad you’re in the Flow. faith is good. at some point, it may go straight into fact ;) oxoo

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *