October 24, 2012

  • Magnetic personality

    This is a crazy day… crazy couple weeks coming up…
    Today, I need to deliver a piece of art and I have an event to go to at the gallery which will run late. Hopefully I’ll get some photos to share here.
    Sunday is the hanging party for our next show so between now and then, I have to get hangers on all my new work, print out title cards for myself and who knows who else, do the event announcements for the gallery, and figure out how to dress myself and tiny (who will be strapped on me in the carrier) for a Halloween event. I think I know what we’ll wear, but I don’t like it… I just feel HUGE with that 20 pound baby strapped on my front! It’s the least awkward way to deal with her at an evening event, but it’s still awkward and unsexy lol… Not that I want to look like a young hottie, but I do like looking sleek… Oh well…
    This weekend, I think the husband is going to slaughter and cook a lamb to sell at a local Halloween festival if all goes well. We keep getting alternating good news and bad news regarding availability of various things he needs. 
    Then I get a week to just think about commissions before the art show and whatever hits us next…
    Yesterday’s project? Well I’m thinking about the holidays and what our family will be giving out. We typically make a variety of neat things and give packs of whatever to people… Small paintings, wooden mallets, walking sticks, soap, canned goods… whatever… This is part of this year’s goodie bag:

    Magnets with our little family on them to give to family. I’m also offering it as a service and have sold a couple sets already ($20 for the first set of 4 or 5 images with graphics editing work; $10 each for every set thereafter).
    Yeah… like I don’t have enough to do already.
    I also want to make some seed packs with some of our surplus, but I don’t know if I’ll get there. At least I’m starting on the holiday gift project a little earlier this year.

    Ok – back to work for me!
    Onward and upward!
    *

Comments (13)

  • There’s something creepy about that magnet. It’s like seeing her in a crystal ball. But your gift ideas sound really cool.

    I hope your showing goes really well.

  • I think it’s really lovely! :)

  • handmade gifts always mean a lot

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - Those magnets are really hard to photograph – The lens effect of the glass combined with the glare factor make it really tough to get a photo that seems like they look in real life. I agree it’s kind of eerie in this shot lol… But they look cool when you have them in your hand…
    @Tempguestbrief - Thank you!
    @greatredwoman - We have lots of family far away so it’s an easy way to send photos that are easily displayed and enjoyed without taking much space. I think they’ll go over well…

  • oxo you go, artist-woman! (and hello, make the beautiful father wear the beautiful girl. he could go as the world’s first pregnant man ;) or first human pouched person ;) i think that would be most clever, but whether opossum or kangaroo or platypus? so many choices ;)  

  • @Bels_Kaylar - The husband will not be joining me at the show so I can’t pawn her off on him.  I’ve been showing for so long it just seems silly to drag him to work with me… Kind of funny actually. A party for one is a work day for another! 

  • @oceanstarr - shazbot! well, then i guess you get to be Kanga with the precocious Roo ;)  

  • Seren is pretty magnetic . That’s the only gem I have to offer today.

  • That’s a cool idea about the holiday gifts. I like to bake cookies, make candy, and can different things for my family. It sounds like it’ll be a little hectic around your corner of the world for a while… but it sounds wonderful too.

  • @Broom_Service - It’s always hectic at my place… We both work out of the home and on a thousand projects at once lol

  • @oceanstarr - And you’re happy and still have your sense of humor. :) It must all be a good thing.

  • I think hand made is wonderful. I started doing photo Christmas cards last year and will do again this year. I also customized my address labels with my best shots of whatever pic I took. You’ll see……….

  • You should have a name and date on the magnet. Someday, someone will wonder about it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *