September 23, 2012

  • In chains

    Ahh… the adventure… There’s nothing more stimulating and exciting to me than a tough deadline to meet!  I have another art show to hang in 7 days and haven’t picked/finished the art yet. It’s so much fun trying to pull it together in time.
    One project I did finish that will help at the show is a piece of crochet.  Since I’ll have the dear baby with me, I need ways to keep her happy so I made this:

    It’s about 5 feet long, 100% cotton, and Seren loves it!  I’ll wear it as a scarf and she can play with it or chew on it or whatever while I’m holding her. It should help keep her away from my earrings and stave off boredom while we hang out in the gallery. 
    I’m also working on some sketches/small hand retouched prints… A sketch that I plan to develop:

    I’m thinking about printing this onto watercolor paper and then retouching it by hand so I can make a variety of prints that are hand done, but not as labor intensive as if they were all done by hand.  We’ll see how that project works out. I’m planning some Dia de los Muertos themed pieces done the same way as well.

    Geez it’s cold. I miss summer already, but am also looking forward to those warm cozy mornings with coffee and blankies snuggling with the ones I love.

    Live is good.
    Onward and upward!
    *

Comments (12)

  • Perhaps we can get by.  This is part of First Friday right?

  • the chain is cool. but it looks to me like the links are individual.  that must have taken forever to make.
    you’re a busy lady.  it’s exciting to hear what you are into.

  • Just so long as you DON’T tie baby up in chains… Hope you meet your deadline. I’m sure your work will be at it’s finest. (oooops… forgot a word and it didn’t sound right.. )

  • So good to get an update on you!  This sudden fall chill is quite a shock to the system!!  The crocheted chain scarf is beautiful.  Good luck on your show.  I like the peacock sketches and your ideas to make individualize prints from them.  Looking forward to seeing the Dia de los Muertos  drawings you do.  :)

  • how neat, the chains. ; )

    and I like the sketch as-is.  it’s a work of art in itself.  is this the photo you put up on fb yesterday?  I went to look but the image wouldn’t load for me.

  • Onward and upwards…probably descriptive of your blogging too. It is good to renew your artistic energy and I hope that you get encouraged to continue.

    So far the heat wave here has not abated and I suppose cold weather will suddenly sneak up on me. It is good to remember having warmer clothes for both you and baby.

  • This winter you can crochet a set of tire chains. There’s no end to the possibilities.

  • How did you get the idea for the chains…?

  • @vexations - Yes – October 6 – 133 Gay St. I’d love to see you again! It’s been ages!
    @promisesunshine - The links are individual… it took several days, but that’s just because it’s the project I worked on with the sweet, tiny one sleeping on my lap. 20 minutes here and there
    @armnatmom - heheh… but I wanted to hang her from the ceiling in the chains

  • Wow, you peacock sketch is VERY good as it is ! 

    But I def. want to see the finished project :)

  • @A_Different_Route - Thanks! I have so many ideas right now it’s hard to zero in on a single task lol…
    @plantinthewindow - Yeah – those were the images from yesterday’s fb.  I’m thinking about just doing that sketch as a print without much alteration. I like it more and more as I look at it.
    @Inciteful - It just kind of came to me I guess… thinking about baby toys and things I’ve never seen in crochet. I don’t want to just do the same thing everyone does… if I do that, what’s the point of doing my own crochet?
    @Want2FitIn2Fat2Fit - Thanks a lot

  • Good luck with the art show.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *