Month: September 2012

  • Down to the wire!!!

       So tomorrow’s hanging day.  So… I decided to make some prints. I found these pen and ink masks I made back in 2003 and never really did anything with. I just made them and stuck them in a folder for storage. So I scanned them and printed them on watercolor paper and then did some color retouching. I’m really enjoying it so far and am working on another mask in pen and ink now… something I haven’t done much of for years and years and years.
    So here: the fruits of my labor.  I’m also putting them on the etsy of course – 10$ each.  I like to have some affordable stuff up for the gifting season…
    I’m also making prints of some of my other paintings in 5″x7″ which will all be 10$ each. If you have any requests for one to be put into that format, just give me a shout. 

       

  • Another new piece – A new direction!

     
    Three Yellow Balloons
    28″x15.25″ Acrylic on Wood
    This piece was painted on recycled salvage material – louon. The surface does show some wood texture and top edge is not completely straight. This piece could be framed, or hung as is.

    I’m really excited about this new direction! I’ve been thinking, of course, of little girl stuff. Who she might be, who I was, what other little girls are like. I guess this is my way of preparing myself for what’s coming. 

    Plus I have to hang this show on Sunday so everything will be ready for First Friday on October 6… So I’m still in the whirlwind of deadline rush!
    onward and upward!
    *
    Edit:
    I just made a 5″x7″ print version of the painting (on watercolor paper) which can be found at my Etsy site here for 10$

  • Working like crazy

    Wooo Hooooooooo I love a deadline! I’m on fire guys!


    Little Girl in the Flowers
    Acrylic on Canvas
    12″x16″
    Edges painted black
    https://www.etsy.com/listing/92238828/little-girl-in-the-flowers-original

    I have a bunch of stuff to scan and print in the next couple of days… Aaaah it’s coming quick! 

  • Another little something

    Another little piece of work – 6 foot, multicolor, 100% cotton fun scarf belt.  It’s nice to catch up on my photography… even though there are a hundred more urgent things I should be doing hehehe.

  • In chains

    Ahh… the adventure… There’s nothing more stimulating and exciting to me than a tough deadline to meet!  I have another art show to hang in 7 days and haven’t picked/finished the art yet. It’s so much fun trying to pull it together in time.
    One project I did finish that will help at the show is a piece of crochet.  Since I’ll have the dear baby with me, I need ways to keep her happy so I made this:

    It’s about 5 feet long, 100% cotton, and Seren loves it!  I’ll wear it as a scarf and she can play with it or chew on it or whatever while I’m holding her. It should help keep her away from my earrings and stave off boredom while we hang out in the gallery. 
    I’m also working on some sketches/small hand retouched prints… A sketch that I plan to develop:

    I’m thinking about printing this onto watercolor paper and then retouching it by hand so I can make a variety of prints that are hand done, but not as labor intensive as if they were all done by hand.  We’ll see how that project works out. I’m planning some Dia de los Muertos themed pieces done the same way as well.

    Geez it’s cold. I miss summer already, but am also looking forward to those warm cozy mornings with coffee and blankies snuggling with the ones I love.

    Live is good.
    Onward and upward!
    *

  • Hello hello

    Hello all! I’m still alive.  Still painting like a mad person…
    I finished the 30 day series and had a show.  Now I have to get ready for another show to be held this First Friday at the same location.  I’m trying to help them with promotions as well so there’s more stuff to get done… We’re still working on the house and a thousand other adventures as well… but things are going great…
    A few images for those of you who don’t follow me on facebook…

    This one’s me and Seren at the last gallery show.  It was an AMAZING night with a HUGE and AMAZING crowd!